School of Social Sciences Inaugurates School Management Committee

The School of Social Sciences inaugurated its School Management Committee on the 12th of August, 2015. Members of the Committee include Professor Charity S. Akotia, Dean of the School of Social Sciences, Prof. Peter Quartey, Head, Department of Economics, Prof. George Owusu, Head, Department of Geography and Resource Development, Dr. Mavis Dako-Gyeke, Head, Department of Social Work, Prof. C. C. Mate Kole, Head, Department of Psychology, Dr. Bossman Asare, Head, Department of Political Science, Rev. Dr. Okyerefo, Head, Department of Sociology, Prof. Felix Asante, Director, ISSER, Mr. James Boateng, CEO of Cadbury, Gh Ltd, Ms. Yvonne Quansah, Chief Economics Officer, Ministry of Finance and Mr. Samuel Afranie, Country Director, The Hunger Project.

Members of the School Management Committee


In his speech, Prof. Samuel Agyei-Mensah, the Provost of the College of Humanities highlighted the mandate of the School Management Committee and implored the members to work hard to boost the image of the School.


Professor Samuel Agyei-Mensah giving his speech


The Dean of the School of Social Sciences, Prof. Charity S. Akotia, in her remark urged Faculty members not to condone apathy in the midst of the myriads of problems faced by the nation but rather to make use of the vast opportunity to engage in cutting edge research that will help inform policy development. She also urged the members of the School Management Committee to assist the School in veering into unexplored territories so as to contribute their quota to making the University of Ghana a World Class University.

Professor Charity Sylvia Akotia giving her address.


Participants at the inauguration of the School Management Committee (SMC) in a group photo with Members of the SMC.